I think there are many reasons children get left in the car, such as, but not limited to:
2.) You’ve got multiple children and you’re stressed out.
3.) You need to run into a store just for a moment, so it’s tempting to leave the car running & just grab what you need, but babies have been kidnapped when someone tries to steal the car as a result.
4.) You don’t want to wake-up sleeping baby for a quick errand, and you’re positive you’ll be right back.
Some states actually have certain laws that pertain to leaving children in the car. Here in Texas, if you leave a child under the age of 7 alone for longer than five minutes and they are not accompanied by another person 14 years or older, it is considered a Class C Misdemeanor. But that is only if NOTHING happens to the child. If for some reason your child is hurt, it is a felony and you could face up to 2 years in jail plus a $10,000 fine. To see if your state has a law click here.
Where does your state rank? I’m sad to say that Texas seems to be the highest.
To prevent forgetting a child in the car, considering leaving something you’ll need when you get out such as shoes, purse, phone, etc. And take a look at this safety checklist–it’s simple, but these quick points just might save your child’s life.
The goal is simple–PREVENT death that shouldn’t be happening in the first place.